The Reshuffle

When Narendra Modi took oath as PM in May 2014, Modi had a Cabinet strength of just 45, the smallest in 16 years. According to the Indian Constitution, the total number of ministers in the council cannot exceed 82, i.e. 15 per cent of the total number of members of the Lok Sabha. The first expansion took place in November 2014, in which 14 MoS, 4 cabinet ministers and 3 MoS with independent charge were inducted, increasing the total size from 45 to 66.

Nineteen new faces were inducted in the Union Council of Ministers on Tuesday, 5th July 2016.  According to the Prime Minister, he has used the E3 formula of ‘experience’, ‘expertise’ and ‘energy’ to chart out the expansion process.

Among the 19 inductees, three MPs each from Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh took oath while four from Rajasthan were also sworn in. Some political analysts state that the inclusion of members from UP and Gujarat have connotations attached to it which will eventually help in preparing a battle ground for the upcoming elections.



  • Venkaiah Naidu is the new I&B Minister.
  • Narendra Tomar: Rural Development Minister.
  • Chaudhary Virendra Singh: Steel Minister.
  • Sadananda Gowda is assigned with Statistics and Programme implementation.
  • RS Prasad given Law and Justice Department.
  • Prakash Javadekar given HRD Department.
  • Smriti Irani has now been given Textiles Ministry.
  • Ananth Kumar is the new Parliamentary Affairs minister.




  • PP Chaudhary:Chaudhary (63), the Lok Sabha MP from Pali (Rajasthan), is a senior Supreme Court lawyer.
  • SS Ahluwalia:A veteran politician, Ahluwalia (65) is Lok Sabha MP from Darjeeling.
  • MJ Akbar:Editor-turned-politician Mobashar Jawed Akbar (65) is Rajya Sabha MP from Jharkhand.
  • Anupriya Patel:Anupriya Singh Patel, Apna Dal leader is the fresh and young face of the newly expanded cabinet. She is Lok Sabha MP from UP’s Mirzapur.
  • Parshottam Rupala:Rupala (61) is Guajarat and is considered close to the prime minister.
  • Mahendra Pandey:Lok Sabha MP from Chandauli (Uttar Pradesh), Mahendra Nath Pandey (58) is the Brahmin face of the reshuffled cabinet. He is a two-term BJP MLA and a first term MP.
  • Vijay Goel: is a fourth time MP quite active in Delhi politics.
  • Anil Madhav Dave:Dave, 60, is the Rajya Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh. He is an environmentalist.
  • Arjun Meghwal:Arjun Ram Meghwal, one of the Dalit faces to join the team, is Lok Sabha MP from Bikaner (Rajasthan).
  • Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi: is Lok Sabha MP from Karnataka’s Bijapur.
  • Ramdas Athawale:Athawale (56) is Rajya Sabha MP from Maharashtra. He is a well-known Dalit leader from the state.
  • Faggan Singh Kulaste:Faggan Singh Kulaste (57), who was heading BJP’s Scheduled Caste Morcha, is the tribal face among the new leaders to be inducted.
  • Rajen Gohain:Gohain (65) is Lok Sabha MP from Assam’s Nawong. He is a fourth-term MP, who joined BJP in 1991.
  • Jasvantsinh Bhabhor:Bhabor (49), a tribal, Lok Sabha MP from Gujarat’s Dahod.
  • Ajay Tamta:Tamta (43) is Lok Sabha MP from Uttarakhand’s Almora.
  • Krishna Raj:Lok Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh’s Shahjahanpur.
  • Mansukhbhai Mandavia:Gujarat’s Rajya Sabha MP, Mandavia (44), represents the Patel community.
  • CR Chaudhary:Lok Sabha MP from Nagaur, Chaudhary (68) has served in various capacities in the Rajasthan government. He has been inducted for expertise in rural development.
  • Subash Ram Bhamre: A first time MP, Bhamre (62) was earlier with the Shiv Sena. He is Lok Sabha MP from Maharashtra’s Dhule.




The biggest news after this expansion was the change in portfolios of Jayant Sinha and Smriti Irani. The former, a Harvard graduate and  a venture capitalist previously, was considered absolutely fit for his portfolio as Minister of State for Finance and was largely thought to have carried out his responsibilities with some degree of competence. Smriti Irani was always surrounded with controversies and had always been on the receiving end of all the flak. It was said that she had close links with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh and was handpicked by the Prime Minister. It is also hard to answer whether she has been demoted or being prepared for her future battle in UP.








Read more at:



The following two tabs change content below.

Kartikey Misra

A student of law, co-founder eltrivate, Individualist, Narcissist. Totally believes in Nationalism. Has an interest in politics, history, religion, literature and international relations. Loves to hunt pseudo liberals and pseudo seculars.

Latest posts by Kartikey Misra (see all)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.