India is all set to have its 14th President this July. President Pranab Mukherjee’s term will come to an end on July 24 this year. The Election Commission of India had started the procedure of filing the nomination for the next President of India. The voting will take place on July 17 and the result will be out on July 20.
Though we have a Parliamentary form of government and the President is merely a nominal head but his position as the head of state cannot be overlooked. By the virtue of his post he is conferred with many important functions.


1.) President is elected by the Electoral College through the system of proportional representation.
ELECTORAL COLLEGE = (Member of both the house of Parliament + Member of State legislative assemblies)
*12 nominated members of Rajya Sabha are exempted from taking part in the election*
PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATION = an electoral system designed to represent in a legislative body each political group or party in proportion to its actual voting strength in the electorate

2.) The elections are usually held in the Parliament House and in all State Legislative Assembly Secretariats. The members cast their votes in a secret paper ballot.
For 2017, the Election Commission directed that the ballot papers should be printed in two colours –
• Green ballot papers for use by Members of Parliament.
• Pink ballot papers for use by State Legislators.

3.) Eligibility To become the President of India, a candidate should have a valid nomination and fulfill the following requirements and conditions:
• Should be a citizen of India.
• Should have completed the age of 35 years.
• Should be qualified for election as a member of Lok Sabha.
• Should be registered as an elector in any Parliamentary Constituency in India.

• The candidate shall not hold any office of profit.
• Candidate’s nomination form needs to be subscribed by at least 50 electors as proposers and 50 electors as supporters.
• The candidate cannot be a member of either House of Parliament or of a House of the Legislature of any state once he or she becomes the President.

4.) The President of India holds office for a term of five years from the date of assuming office.

Today the ruling coalition picked Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind as the candidate for the President of India.

Picture courtesy:



The following two tabs change content below.

Kartikey Misra

A student of law, co-founder eltrivate, Individualist, Narcissist. Totally believes in Nationalism. Has an interest in politics, history, religion, literature and international relations. Loves to hunt pseudo liberals and pseudo seculars.

Latest posts by Kartikey Misra (see all)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.